CASTING THE FIRST STONE

Before I cast a stone
I hope I remember
Everyone has a story

Before I judge their motives
I hope I remember
I can’t read minds

Before I exchange harsh words
I hope I remember
Maybe their day has been bad too

Before I walk away hurt
I hope I remember
I’ve hurt others too

Before I start my day
I hope I remember
To be respectful to everyone

Before you start your day
I hope you remember
We just want to be heard

Before you start your day
I hope you remember
We just want respect

Before you start your day
I hope you remember
We just want to be believed

Before you start your day
I hope you remember
We just want kindness

Before you start your day
I hope you remember
You could be us

Thanks for reading,
J9
It’s hard to have a mental illness. It’s even harder to have those who don’t listen or who make light of it. On the other hand I catch myself not being very patient with those who aren’t mentally ill and I need to not be judgmental with them. Or I am no different than those who make it hard for us.

Leave a Reply

