The Obvious Vs Always Doing What You’ve Always Done

Recently my young granddaughters were visiting. They had finished their bath and I had pulled the store-bought plug on the tub. About 20 minutes later went in to find the water still had not drained. Because I have long hair I assumed it was clogged as it gets that way quite often. So I pulled out the plunger and went to work, all kinds of icky stuff started coming out it bubbled but would not drain. I worked on it for about 15-20 minutes. I finally called in my husband and said we have a problem. He looked and said “hum I don’t understand I just put drain cleaner in it.” Then he reached down and pulled the plug that is built-in. As he did that I remembered as the girls were playing my youngest granddaughter was playing with it. We both laughed.

As I’ve been thinking about this I think how we as humans do things like this in our lives with our mental illnesses too. We often assume the problem is exactly the same as what it’s been in our past and therefore try to solve it in the same way. Instead of sometimes seeing that it is not the problem at all and the solution is right in front of us. Or we try to fix the same problem over and over with the same solution and wonder why it never works or rarely does.

I think of the old saying “if we always do what we’ve always done, we will always get what we’ve always gotten.”

Would love some feedback.

Thanks for reading,

J9

2 thoughts on “The Obvious Vs Always Doing What You’ve Always Done

  1. I’ve heard that expression before but didn’t really think it through…I really like how you’ve used it in a real life way, and also in a recovery way! So true

    Like

Leave a Reply

